restoring.your.inner.self

My journey in a new direction

That was a learning experience….

Posted by BarbaraZ on May 12, 2012

Finding breakfast is not always a one dive shot. It often takes several dives to get the catch you want. I am like this osprey, stopping to think of new actions to reach my goal.

I learned after much effort that I am not able to put a PowerPoint on my blog. Getting a video is an option, but not for me at this time. So I decided to take advantage of my experience with a few fitting quotes from my book:  Readings from the Hurricane Island Outward Bound School. I am amazed at the number of clicks I get whenever I post from this book of quotes.

From the wisdom of Aldous Huxley:

The rung of a ladder was never meant to rest upon, but only to hold a man’s foot long enough to enable him to put the other somewhat higher.

Robert Frost said:

Something we were withholding made us weak until we found out that it was ourselves we were withholding from our land of living and forthwith found salvation in surrender.

A longer quote by Chapin Wright:

Mother nature has let us flounder all night in the fog. We fight our way: she is telling us with her fog that life is not always a direct sighting; you don’t always know where you are or where you are going; you can only keep fighting with a smile until it breaks and the new light is seen, then you are on your way again.  It may be a new direction, but it is a life. Thanks for the fog.

I cannot leave out the words of Walt Whitman:

Now understand me well–it is provided in the essence of things that from any fruition of success, no matter what, shall come forth something to make a greater struggle necessary.

Finally, Henry David Thoreau:

…If one advanced confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with success unexpected in common hours…if you have built castles in he air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them.

3 Responses to “That was a learning experience….”

  1. BarbaraZ said

    I am amazed at the number of people looking for quotes from the Outward Bound Book of Quotes! I sure wish you would leave me a note… like where you did your 8 days. My 8 days started in the Savage River State Forest on the western most tip of the Maryland panhandle and from one point we could see 3 states. It was one of the most challenging things I have ever done and I would never survived without the help of others on that ‘hike.’ Thank you, to all that helped where ever you are…

  2. Jodi Aman said

    Quotes really have been supporting us lately! They are like buoys!

    • BarbaraZ said

      Those who have experienced life before us have so much knowledge and wisdom (there is a difference!) to share. We can indeed be buoyed up by listening to their thoughts and reactions to their life experiences. Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 201 other followers

