restoring.your.inner.self

My journey in a new direction

My Wish for 2014

Posted by BarbaraZ on December 27, 2013

Peac Image

A “Blue Marble” image of the Earth taken from the VIIRS instrument aboard NASA’s most recently launched Earth-observing satellite, Suomi NPP. This composite image uses a number of swaths of the Earth’s surface taken on Jan. 4, 2012.

It is a dream, I know, but within my years on this planet I have seen the damage that has been done. It is not just the wars and the hatred between people, but the neglect and disrespect that we have all had toward this magnificent planet. There are those who try to encourage better relationships between the extreme political and religious factions. They are ignored and even killed.

Polio was almost eradicated until those without understanding and filled with distrust actually killed the individuals who were trying to deliver this vaccination to those who did not have access to it. The envoys trying to get food and other needed commodities to those in the war-torn areas have been blocked and again killed so that the relief efforts had to be stopped. Why is it that the youngest among us are the targets for extremists? The young are the future of the planet. Do they see them as future competition?

Then there is the damage that we bring to the planet ourselves. Yes, chemicals were brought in to use to increase the growth of crops, but when the use of these chemicals was proven to be detrimental, their use was not stopped. Big crops mean more money. The throw away society that I have been apart of, sadly… is using up the trees, adding to the HUGE trash dumps. I am using my shopping bags, recycling and still so much has to be put in the trash! I get so upset when I see cigarettes tossed out the window of cars along with cups being dropped out the car windows too. Would these individuals do this in their own ‘physical’ home?  Don’t they realize that this planet is also their home? It should be treated with respect and not used as a dumping ground.

Then I see the news of those who try… in all different arenas, as with the CNN Heroes. Here are those for 20132012 and you can view past years here.  I know every one has read  or heard via the news of young children who pick a cause and get fantastic results. Here is a link to The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind.

At age 14, in poverty and famine, a Malawian boy built a windmill to power his family’s home. Now at 22, William Kamkwamba, who speaks at TED, here, for the second time, shares in his own words the moving tale of invention that changed his life.

It can be done, but it will mean that we all have to work together! We can wipe out war, famine and even illness. Unfortunately the needed effort to accomplish these goals are being expended in the opposite directions on all fronts. Power, money,  are the carrots that dangle in front of these individuals. Resentments that go back centuries fuel their efforts. Then there is distortion of true religion. To move forward, one has to let go of the past. This is needed not only on the individual level, but also on the universal level.

I know, it is just a dream…. but I believe it could actually happen, one step at a time. We just have to link hands across the planet… and dream together. Dreams can come true!

If you should happen to visit, please leave a comment on how you try to do your part to help our fragile world survive. It does not have to be a major act. Mine include remembering to always use my reusable shopping bags. I try to recycle all I can and yet I am amazed at how much is still put in the trash. I want positive posts, not ones filled with hatred. You are welcome to keep those to yourself. Maybe that will make my post here one-sided, but this post is about saving and not destroying…

Below is a bookmark I made. You are welcome to copy and share with others. Life is not always easy. It can bring difficulties. How we deal with what comes our way is what counts. Let us take the negatives of 2013 and turn them around, whether they are our own or ones that permeate out society. #Peace

BOOKMARK

2 Responses to “My Wish for 2014”

  1. […] My Wish for 2014 (restoringyourinnerself.wordpress.com) […]

    • BarbaraZ said

      I visited your blog. You are off to a great start. One thing you, and I, need to learn to do is to visit and leave real comments on the sites we visit. It is one way to build up a following. You help others with your visits and comments and they in turn help you! I was good at this before and met some fantastic bloggers.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

