restoring.your.inner.self

My journey in a new direction

I Am Dreaming Again… about that elusive Peace we need so deeply!

Posted by BarbaraZ on August 22, 2014

Stormy Sunrise

Stormy Sunrise

The weather is stormy across the planet. There are hurricanes where they have rarely been before. Earthquakes are happening in strange locations. Drought is going to change the water consumption in major cities and also the farming capabilities of areas that were most bountiful in the past.  The stormy weather I am really referring to are the thoughts and actions  of the people around the globe that have reached storm levels not seen in quite a few years. Brutality is committed against the innocent without a second thought.  I wish I knew the answer for bringing peace and understanding to this planet of ours, but I don’t.  What I can do, is to lead my life in a manner that shows respect for both man and nature. I know there are others who feel the same and if our numbers grow, perhaps we can turn the tide against the hatred, anger and disrespect for man, beast and nature.

I agree totally with the following quotes about war by Jimmy Carter and Dwight D. Eisenhower. These quotes were copied from: War Quotes 

War may sometimes be a necessary evil. But no matter how necessary, it is always an evil, never a good.
We will not learn how to live together in peace by killing each other’s children.

Jimmy Carter, Nobel Lecture, Dec. 10, 2002

I hate war as only a soldier who has lived it can, only as one who has seen its brutality, its stupidity.
Dwight D. Eisenhower, speech, Jan. 10, 1946

How to turn this around? History has gone through many cycles of peace and war and the world has survived. Unfortunately the weapons of today are more destructive than ever before. The damage done will remain and harm those remaining for centuries to come. We need a new dawn, a new start where peace may have a chance. I know, I am dreaming again….

December 23, 2011 at 6:45 am

December 23, 2011 at 6:45 am

This new dawn is emerging out of the darkness of night. Its brilliance will soon overtake the dark clouds, pushing them out of sight. We have to learn how to survive in these troubled times. Each of us needs to find that means that enables us to find our own individual peace. If we do not feel peace within ourselves, there is no way we can help others find peace.

If you take care of each moment, you will take care of all time.
Jack Kornfield’s Buddha’s Little Instruction Book

The Calming Motion of Waves....

The Calming Motion of Waves….

For me, when I am feeling stressed, if I cannot get to the ocean itself, I have the calming sound of the waves I can listen to. For those in the mountains, I am sure it is exploring the beauty of those mountains that can calm a troubled soul. We all should have something that we can reach out to, embrace, to bring peace to our lives. The refugees of war, natural disasters, do not have this option and that is what makes their survival so difficult. I cannot reach out physically to these individuals, but I can do so from within… so I do… through my actions and thoughts toward others within my own world.

As you travel trough life, offer good wishes to each being you meet.
Jack Kornfield’s Buddha’s Little Instruction Book

OK.. enough of my dreaming about peace. I do not know what you will do after reading this. I do know what I will do… I will seek peace in all ways… through prayer, actions, thoughts and beliefs.

3 Responses to “I Am Dreaming Again… about that elusive Peace we need so deeply!”

  1. dabaudoin said

    Wonderful post. Sharing!

  2. dabaudoin said

    Reblogged this on Ten Thousand Soapboxes and commented:
    The awesome BarbaraZ, touching on matters of great importance.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 201 other followers

